The Book Deluge That is Literary Agenting and Bulk Book Blogging

I have always read a ton. And when I mean a ton, I really mean A TON. As a reader, I would read. As a writer, I would read. As a bookstore employee, I would read. In university, I read a ton. As a mom, I still read. But nothing prepared me for the reading I would do as a foreign rights and literary agent.

Another thing, I ALWAYS finish books. I mean, ALWAYS. I think I could count on one hand the books that I didn’t finish…up until I started working in publishing. And now in addition to the never-ending stacks of books by my bed (and in the kitchen, and living room, and bathroom, and stairwell, and hallway) – having nothing to do with the bookcases in the bedroom, (and living room and kitchen and stairwell, and hallway and kids bedrooms…) now I am faced with SERIOUS MORAL DILEMMAS.

Image

Do I read:

1. A book whose foreign rights I am trying to sell (pitches with a personal recommendation ALWAYS get more requests – and I can be pretty convincing!)

2. A book in Hebrew or English by an author I might take on as a client

3. A book that might be a good comparison title to one of the books I am trying to sell for one of my clients

4. A book that I often see quoted or mentioned as a comparison title and it would be a really good idea to know what everyone is talking about

5. A book that will help me in my own research for my own writing projects

6. A book for my book club

7. A book that I simply just want to read because I love the author or it sounds great (even if…gasp! I don’t hold the foreign rights to the book and I can’t sell it which would mean that this is just pleasure reading…pure and simple.)

And of course, as you can imagine – category #7 is often what gets shunted to the side in favor of all the other books I could and SHOULD be reading.

Sigh.

Sometimes I look at all the books all around me and all the books and manuscripts on my kindle and I get paralyzed by it ALL.

ImageAnd never before have I had so many books surrounding me that are either face-down, or bookmarked somewhere in the middle – meaning I started it but…I didn’t finish. For the first time in my life I am surrounded by books I have abandoned mid-read. And I think it means two things:

1. Sometimes I would rather get a taste of something so I can at least sound like I know what I am talking about – rather than not read the book at all.

2. A book has to really grab my attention and keep it, in order for me to keep reading.

So many books, so little time, so many authors and writers and words vying for attention…and inevitably…the best ones win. That doesn’t mean that the books I stopped in the middle aren’t amazing books…it just means that something happened mid-read, something dragged somewhere, it could have been a page, or a paragraph, or my mood at the moment, but SOMETHING caused me to put that book down and NOT PICK IT BACK UP AGAIN. The horror.

ImageI came back from the London Book Fair sick with mono and CMV. So I have spent quite a lot of time reading this last month. So I am going to do a bulk book blog and tell you about the books I LOVED – the ones I couldn’t put down and read in almost one sitting…and the books that are half-finished (which I have decided that I am determined to finish this weekend…hopefully…)

THE AMAZING ONES:

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Other Typist by Suzanne Rindell – this book tells the story of two typists in the 1920s – when touch typing gave women an opportunity to enter offices and work-places that were previously male-only establishments – set against the backdrop of prohibition and speakeasies. The novel tells a tale that is somewhat of a addictive psychological thriller, but also a fabulous history lesson. The characterization and descriptions wowed me, and I read it in one sitting.

Image

The Revised Fundamentals of Caregiving by Jonathan Evison – first of all, let me just say that when I first read the description of this book I was not interested in reading it AT ALL. But I should have known. It’s an Algonquin book, and as a publishing house, they have NEVER let me down yet. I was hooked from page one, and read it in one sitting. It’s a novel about fatherhood and about tragedy, and about caring for others, and it blew me away.

Image

The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovett – I knew I was going to read this book the second I found out it was partly set in Hay-On-Wye – the UK’s infamous “town of books” where I once tried to spend a day or two, and ended up staying a week (and having to buy an extra bag to cart away all of my purchases.) This book falls on the familiar trope of the undiscovered secret manuscript of a long-dead author (Shakespeare in particular) – and I love those types of books, but the book is also so much more – the love story and the relationship of the main character with his dead wife is heart-wrenching, and tragic, but told so tenderly and well, that it almost overshadowed the actual plot of the novel. I read it in one sitting.

Image

The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – there was so much to like about this novel, but more than anything I loved the point of view from which it was told – the somewhat unreliable narrator whose life has been turned upside down – but you are quite ready to see the world through his eyes and you want to believe everything he tells you. It was sad, but it was also glorious, and full of so many truths and much sadness, but also lots of hope – lots of silver linings. I read it in…guess what? One sitting.

THE HALF-FINISHED ONES (which I will finish this weekend!):

Image

The Innocents by Francesca Segal – this book got SO MUCH HYPE! It was nominated for so many awards, it actually won three awards (the Costa Book Award and the National Jewish Book Award and the Samy Rohr Prize) but….I’m stuck at page 122. I wanted to love this book so much…but I lost interest.

Image

The 39 Deaths of Adam Strand by Gregory Galloway – I heard so many amazing things about this book – everywhere I went people were mentioning it, talking about it, on twitter, facebook, in reviews…I stopped on page 68. There wasn’t enough to keep me riveted, even though I liked what I read.

Image

The Golem and the Jinni by Helene Wecker – so this book doesn’t really count as one of the books I didn’t finish because it lost my interest – this books is in a different catagory – this is a book I am loving so much that I don’t want it to end and I am savoring it, I am actually choosing to read this book slowly, and in truth, in the way it’s written, it sort of lends itself to that – alternating perspectives – and so much beautiful description – the inner torment of the characters – the meshing of all their very different lives…I will finish this one this weekend too, but I will be sad when it’s done…one of the best books I’ve read all year, but just not a page-turner in that sense, it’s a book that needs to be savored and enjoyed, one delicious page at a time.

Image

The Middlesteins by Jamie Attenberg – (I actually finished this book this morning…) but again, a book that got so much hype I knew I HAD to read it. I LOVED the beginning, but Edie’s slow descent into her own world of food and self-loathing was difficult to read and I did feel that somewhere in the middle the power of description displayed in the beginning of the book was sort of lost. But…it picked up and I loved the end, and Attenberg’s powers are back in full force. I’m really not sure why I got stuck in the middle, but I’m glad I returned to it and finished.

Of course, there are other books that read and enjoyed, and other books and manuscripts that I am in the middle of too…but if I told you about those I would have to kill you. Sigh…the life of a literary agent. (Or should I say book-slave?)

Wish me luck this weekend! I have books to finish!

1 Comment

Filed under Books

One response to “The Book Deluge That is Literary Agenting and Bulk Book Blogging

  1. I hear you! Never enough time. But I do give up on books a little more now than when I was, ahem, younger. If I’m really, really not getting it, sometimes I won’t finish. Doesn’t happen often, but it does. Thanks for the recommendations–a couple I hadn’t heard of and so, my pile grows too :).

Leave a Reply

