Jan 10 The Subtle Knife by Philip Pullman

So after I read Golden Compass and watched the movie, I was so excited to read the next book! However, I found The Subtle Knife (His Dark Materials, Book 2) to be a huge disappointment! I didn’t feel that the book had the same cohesiveness that the first book had. It almost felt, to me, like the author was making everything up as he went along. There were too many new worlds and new characters and while it’s a neat idea to make Lyra’s world meet up with the modern world and modern Oxford, I felt let down. I really liked Lyra’s world and I didn’t want to leave it. I also felt that the idea of Spectres wasn’t really explained that well and the book lacked the same kind of genius and creative ideas that the first book had.

After I watched the first movie: The Golden Compass (Widescreen Single-Disc Edition) I went online to see if there was going to be another movie put out about the sequel. Apparently, there was originally a plan for a second and third movie – a trilogy, but the plans were scrapped because the anti-Christian themes in the books were just a bit much for the general public – at least that’s what speculation seems to say (see here for more information about this) . The truth is, in my opinion, the reason a sequel was not made was because the second book lacks the magic of the first book – it is not a self-contained stories in and of itself, it is a poor continuation of the first book.

But I was intrigued enough to give Philip Pullman another chance and so I went on to read the third and final book of the trilogy: The Amber Spyglass (His Dark Materials, Book 3), 1st edition

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

