Jan 23 Room by Emma Donoghue

I first heard about Room: A Novel
when the National Book Awards were announced and was interested right away. I downloaded an excerpt on my iphone and loved it and made a point to get a copy when I got a chance. I didn’t realize until I actually had the book in my hands that Emma Donoghue also wrote Slammerkin, which was a book that I absolutely did not enjoy! I still think I would have read Room: A Novel but it just really shocked me that the author could write such completely different novels.

Room: A Novel deserved all of the praise and awards it can get. Donoghue narrates the story in the voice of a 5-year-old child so successfully that it’s really quite an impressive feat. The story is harrowing only in theme, but the actual narrative is really light – infinitely readable and the book really is about the triumph of the soul – the ability of the human being to undergo the worst possible experiences and scenarios and find a way to cope and to provide every comfort that a mother can provide despite the hell that she is living through. Run, don’t walk to the nearest bookstore and buy this book. You won’t be able to put it down. I couldn’t.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

