Jan 27 The Outcast by Sadie Jones

The emotion I felt most when reading this novel was frustration. Not at the writer or at the story but I empathized so much with the character that I was upset and frustrated for him. I wanted the book to be told a different way, for something else to happen, it was all so sad and tragic and unfair, which is I guess the point. Sadie Jones does an excellent job in The Outcast: A Novel (P.S.) of presenting a time period along with all the of the attitudes that came along with it. The book was sad and haunting and well written, but oh so frustrating because I really came to like the main character and was very upset about the fate he suffered purely because of circumstance.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

