Feb 19 A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick

I wasn’t sure that I was going to love A Reliable Wife because I found the first few chapters pretty slow – but once this book grabbed me, WOW! I couldn’t put it down. I basically read the book in one sitting except for those first few chapters. The book has a happy ending even though the characters all go through some pretty terrible things in their lifetimes and you know what? I like happy endings. A lot. Especially when they are unexpected. Especially when people can find a way to forgive and a way to love and a way to hope and move on and find redemption against all odds.

Actually this book reminded me a lot of my novel “Blown to Smithereens” which I am actively seeking representation for (see here for more information). I think that all humans seek happiness and redemption deep down and that is why novels with happy endings make us feel good. I think it is humans are social animals and despite the worst circumstances – everyone wants to be loved and to be happy in the end.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

