May 2 – The Glass Castle by Jeanette Walls

I have to admit that this was a re-read, but I read the book so long ago that I felt as though I was reading it for the first time. I certainly enjoyed it as much if not more than the first time around! What I enjoyed the most this time was Wall’s engaging command of language – she kept me reading and interesting and enjoying her prose all at the same time – which is no easy feat. I was no less amazed by her story and her triumph against the odds than I was the last time I read it. I continue to be blown away by the way she was raised, by what she made of herself from the wreck of her childhood, but mostly by the grace and sympathetic way with which and in which she tells the story – never quite disparaging her parents, always finding the lesson, the silver lining or the lesson learned from every experience.

The Glass Castle: A Memoir is worth reading again, and again, and for the first time if you haven’t read it yet.

Now I’m off to read her newest book Half Broke Horses: A True-Life Novel in advance of my Wednesday night book club. The book club actually only read The Glass Castle: A Memoir but I would like to have read the newer book too so that I can recommend it as well. Will report back pronto with that review when finished!

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

