May 3 – The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver

My oh my. Now this was an amazing novel. So amazing that I couldn’t read it in one day because I didn’t want it to be over. It made me laugh, it made me cry, it made my heart yearn to be an author more than ever. What more could you want in a book? Love stories, intrigue, mystery, amazing art, an aspiring author, social commentary, misery and disappointment. There was nothing this novel did not have. Barbara Kingsolver seriously outdid herself in The Lacuna and I only hope it doesn’t take her nine more years to write her next novel! I don’t think I can wait that long!

What amazes me most about Barbara Kingsolver is how different her novels are now. Her first few: Pigs in Heaven, The Bean Trees etc. were okay. But then she took off as an author and now each novel is really an entire universe unto itself – each one a magnum opus (though I think The Lacuna so far takes the cake). This novel is seriously Pulitzer worthy. I know it won the Orange Prize, but in my mind it deserves so much more.

Here I must share one of my favorite quotes from the novel: “I should like to write my books only for the dear person who lies awake reading in bed until page last, then lets the book fall gently on her face to touch her smile or drink her tears.”
Yup. That just about sums up my writing philosophy right there.

Read this book now and let its pages touch your smiles and drink your tears.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

