New Genres: City of Dark Magic by Magnus Flyte

I just finished reading City of Dark Magic by Mangus Flyte, and I must say that it was thoroughly enjoyable. Like a cross between a beach read,  a fantasy novel and a fun romping suspense/thriller. In truth, I have no idea how to even place it. Part Christopher Moore, part Katie Macalister, part Dante Club – and even a little of Jepp, Who Defied the Stars, I really have never read a novel quite like it.  I could definitely tell you that there were things that didn’t work for me: certain scenes that seemed a bit contrived, certain elements that were perhaps a bit implausible, but I’m not going to. Instead I’m going to tell you what I LOVED about the novel and why the bits that didn’t make perfect sense didn’t matter.

city of dark

I loved the setting: Prague, with all its intrigue and rich history and architecture.

I loved the quest: old manuscripts, secrets, a love story (both modern and historical), a connection to alchemy and even The Golden Fleece

I loved the task: to catalogue artifacts looted from a royal family by the Nazis, Communists and history and restore them to their rightful owners on museum display

I loved the narrator: modern, spunky, super smart yet skeptical – she reminded me of a lot of what I call “accidental” heroines that you find in Urban Fantasy and Paranormal Romance

I loved the quirkiness: the dwarf, hallucinogenic toenails, awkward sex in public places etc.

Does it matter now what I didn’t love? I didn’t think so.

I think that City of Dark Magic is a new genre of genreless books. Books that have almost everything in them and therefore can’t be pigeonholed into anything. Bring on more Rom-Com, Thriller/Mystery, Fantasy, Historical, Literary novels please!!

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

