National Poetry Month, Napowrimo, and My Own Personal Brand of Madness

I am doing something decidedly insane this month, especially considering the fact that I am going to the London Book Fair in the middle of all of this, and I have to hand in edits for my cookbook (Eating the Bible, coming out in September from Skyhorse Press and already available for pre-order on Amazon!) in the next few days, and I am in the middle of working on the first book in a fantasy series. But, it’s NATIONAL POETRY MONTH and it’s Napowrimo so…I will be writing one poem a day for 30 days starting April 1 (I may have to double up on some days especially when I am in London). I am certifiably nuts. But some of you already knew that.

I will also be participating in the following: THE BIG POETRY GIVEAWAY 2013

My Try Poetry Giveaway

I will be giving away two books of poetry.

One by my favorite poet of all time: Pablo Neruda and another by a new, lesser-known poet: Traci Birnhall.

I haven’t decided which Pablo Neruda book yet. I’m still debating…Check back here to find out!

This is the Traci Birnhall book:

birnhall

Very excited to be doing this (and a little nervous!) I’m not sure if I’ll post the poem that I write each day, because I would like to be able to submit them afterwards, maybe snippets of the poems and something about the process, the ideas I touch upon and where my inspiration comes from.

Please comment below in order to enter the giveway!

15 Comments

Filed under Poetry

15 responses to “National Poetry Month, Napowrimo, and My Own Personal Brand of Madness

  1. Sarah Dangelantonio

    such a great idea – thanks for participating and count me in!

  2. Count me in, too, please. And thanks for participating!

  3. Count me in! Thanks for being a part ofthis!

  4. I love this giveaway idea! Thanks.

  5. Please consider this my entry 🙂

  6. Neruda is in my top 5 🙂 Thanks for participating in the giveaway

  7. Count me in too! 🙂 Awesome!
    bklossada (at) gmail (dot) com
    Bridget

  8. Hi Rena – a lovely idea!
    Happy Poetry Month from the NSW North Coast! Count me in! After scribbling for my poetry muse for YEARS, last September discovered the fun of ‘drabbles’ (100-word microfiction).
    Re your comment about writing something about the process, the ideas and the source of your inspiration. I have recently done this for an on-line project that I am hosting [http://pool.abc.net.au/media/michael]. This piece is a tribute to Michael Dransfield (Australia’s prolific ‘drug poet’ of the early 1970s).
    I suppose it is my way of blogging (look for ‘Alexandra J Cornwell – Poet’ and ‘Byron Short Fiction ‘Drabble’ Writers’ on facebook). I joined a writer’s group last week and did my first readers & writers festival in Bellingen 2 weeks ago (also attended and entered my first Poetry Slam event)…
    Happy poetry writing!
    Alexandra williams[dot]alexandra{at}ymail[dot]com

  9. Rena, sign me up and throw me in for either book> I have most of Neruda but can always gift it. And your cookbook sounds like a real treasure, will be getting it!

  10. I’d love to play! Thanks!! Wow — on the cookbook! katrina
    And do visit me, too: http://www.katrinaroberts.net/blog.htm

  11. Count me in and thanks for doing this!

  12. Angela

    Always wanted the Traci Brimhall book. Thanks for this generous offer!

Leave a Reply

